DSE Presents “Court and Country” Baroque Concert, Sunday, April 17, 2016

April 5th, 2016

Dolce Suono Ensemble presents “Court and Country“, our annual (mostly) Baroque concert. The program includes great chamber works and arias by Bach, Corelli, Handel, Purcell, Rameau, and Vivaldi that emerged under differing circumstances such as court patronage, public performance, and integrating musical styles of origin both high-brow and low-brow. The artists include Allegra da Vita, mezzo-soprano making her DSE debut, and DSE core artists Mimi Stillman, flute, Yiying Julia Li, violin, Nathan Vickery, cello, and Matthew Glandorf, harpsichord (guest artist).

The Program:
Bach, Trio Sonata from The Musical Offering, sonatas for flute and continuo and gamba and continuo
Corelli, Trio Sonata in A Minor
Handel, “Scherza infida” from Ariodante
Purcell, “When I am Laid in Earth” from Dido and Aeneas
Rameau, “Cruelle mere des amours” from Hippolyte et Aricie
Vivaldi, “Agitata da due venti” from Griselda

Allegra De Vita, mezzo-soprano [Academy of Vocal Arts]
Mimi Stillman, flute [Soloist and DSE Artistic Director]
Yiying Julia Li, violin [The Philadelphia Orchestra]
Nathan Vickery, cello [The New York Philharmonic]
Matthew Glandorf, harpsichord [Director, Choral Arts Philadelphia]

Sunday, April 17, 2017 at 3:00pm

Old Pine Street Presbyterian Church

412 Pine Street, Philadelphia

Tickets: General $30 / Senior $25 / Student $10             

267-252-1803    www.dolcesuono.com/tickets